Asteroid Near Earth Today Is Closer Than the Moon

An asteroid will sail close to Earth today, flying safely between our planet and the orbit of the moon. We can follow the space rock encounter live online at 

"This asteroid, 2014 DX110, is estimated to be about 100 feet (30 meters) across," officials at NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory in California wrote in an alert. 

"Its closest approach to Earth will be at about 217,000 miles from Earth at about 1 p.m. PST (4 p.m. EST) [2100 GMT] on March 5." 

The average distance between Earth and its moon is about 239,000 miles.

Okay, that's close, really close. Go and watch. Then talk about what you think... 


No comments: